2018 Awards Program
Share |

GMIS International Recognizes Public Sector IT Excellence at Annual Awards Ceremony

GMIS International recognized excellence in public sector IT Projects and Leadership during the Annual Awards Ceremony held in conjunction with GMIS MEETS, the Annual GMIS International Conference held in St. Louis Missouri.

Each year GMIS solicits nominations from the membership to recognize the projects and staff in member organizations who exemplify the dedication and excellence GMIS members demonstrate when supporting our constituents. These award recipients represent the breadth of innovation, dedication to public service and the highest level of professionalism shown each day by GMIS members.

The GMIS Awards presented include:

  • Government to Citizens Award (G2C) presented to Terance Henry from the City of Marion, Illinois.
  • Best Practices Award presented to the Macon-Bibb County, Georgia for the MaconInsights Project.

The Champion Chapter Award is presented to the GMIS State Chapter that has furthered the overall goals of GMIS International, including participation in GMIS activities, excellence in activities at the state chapter level, and membership growth and retention. The GMIS Illinois Chapter was presented with this year’s award. Accepting the award for the Illinois Chapter was Chapter President, Lori Baker.

The Outstanding Professional Award has been presented by GMIS since 1985. This year’s recipient of the prestigious GMIS OPA Award is Jason Brookins, Director of Information Technology, Clayton County Board of Commissioners. Mr. Brookins’ significant contributions to his organization and his community exemplify the characteristics of the OPA Award.

The President’s Award was given by GMIS International President, Justin Heyman, to Matt Wainwright, GMIS International 2017-2018 Past President and Chief Information Officer for the Town of Middletown, Rhode Island. Mr. Wainwright stepped back onto the GMIS International Board to fill a critical vacancy and he has been instrumental in working to finalize the formation of a GMIS Chapter in the State of Mississippi.

The Hershel Strickland Award honors the memory of contributions made by Hershel Strickland to all aspects of GMIS. This year’s recipient of the Hershel Strickland Award is Lee Micai, Director of Information Technology with the Mercer County, New Jersey, Board of Social Services. Mr. Micai has worked tirelessly to form alliances with other organizations and to grow GMIS membership.

The GMIS Diamond Award was presented to SHI for their continued long-term support of GMIS International. The GMIS Ruby Award was presented to Pure Storage for their on-going support of GMIS International.

GMIS International would like to congratulate all the recipients of these prestigious awards.

Thank you to our 2019 GMIS MEETS Sponsors

GMIS data drive Facebook Twitter linkedin

© 2019 GMIS International Headquarters
PO Box 1056 Leander, TX 78646 | 877.963.4647 | headquarters@gmis.org
GMIS is professionally managed by CMP Management.