GMIS Accreditation Program
Share |

GMIS Accreditation is a program designed to help organizations implement a standard level of best practices. The program is designed to provide a framework leveraging the IT industry's latest standards, and with a toolkit and support to help get through it regardless of the size of the organization or IT staff.

What does the Accreditation program cover?

The Accreditation program covers the following 5 Information Technology areas:

  • Security
  • Strategy
  • Governance
  • Operations
  • Continuous Improvement

If I decide to become accredited, what should I expect?

Once your accreditation begins, you will receive the prepackaged toolkit and plan.

The plan will outline the following path toward accreditation:

  • 1.Self Assessment
  • 2.Budget
  • 3.Execution
  • 4.Audit

The initial accreditation may be difficult and time consuming. While we do not set an official time limit, we prefer it to be completed within 3 years to keep your accreditation standards as current as possible.

We will work with your organization to achieve this goal.

Who is eligible?

All GMIS agency members are eligible to volunteer for accreditation. Even members that have smaller IT staffs, or must contract out IT work are eligible. The accreditation includes help to ensure your contractors and their work meet minimum industry standards.

The Accreditation program is still under development and being tested. If you are a GMIS member (or a public agency looking to become a GMIS member) and are interested in becoming Accredited, please email:

GMIS data drive Facebook Twitter linkedin Google+

© 2017 GMIS International Headquarters
PO Box 27923 Austin, TX 78755 | Phone 877.963.4647 |